Several competitions were part of the 45th International Horn Symposium, held July 29 to August 3 in Memphis. The Dorothy Frizelle Orchestral Audition Contests and Premier Soloist Competition are annual events sponsored by the International Horn Society, while IHS 45 sponsored competitions for large horn ensembles, horn quartets, and for jazz soloists.

Winners of the Frizelle Contest were Paul Clifton from Kalamazoo, MI for high horn and Ian Mayton from Durham, NC for low horn. The Premier Soloist competition was won by Julian Zheng from Melbourne, Australia by way of Los Angeles, CA, with Paul Clifton taking second place and Erika Binsley of Thousand Oaks, CA, third.

Judges declared two winners of the IHS 45 Horn Quartet Competition: the QHorns Quartet from Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University, in Brisbane, Australia - members Elena Katahanas, Campbell McInnes, Rebecca Luton and Trestan McMillan - and Cor4 from Indiana University, consisting of Sam Crocker, Kevin Miescke, Cameron Wray and Drew Wright. Winners of the large ensemble division of the competition were the QHorns from Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University, and second place was won by the Messiah College horn studio. The IHS 45 Jazz Solo Competition was won by Mike Simpson of Renton, WA.

All of the IHS 45 competition winners performed on the Participant Ensembles Concert on Saturday afternoon, August 3, the final day of the symposium.

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.