Tips Needed for Horn Techniques

More
04 feb 2014 02:06 #794 by Ryan Jackson
Tips Needed for Horn Techniques was created by Ryan Jackson
Hello Guys and Gals,

I am currently a Freshman in college (who is majoring in Music Education) playing French Horn. I've been playing for about 3-4 years on horn and throughout the rest of high school and starting in college, there hasn't been anyone that plays beside me who I can try to sound like (We had a horn shortage, I was mainly First Chair :( ). So really, I have had no one to teach me or show me great concepts just for horns. In my college, we do not have a staff of teachers for instruments, so we have one brass teacher that teaches all brass, who is a great trombone player. There is only so much he can teach me, such as the overall brass concepts of lip slurs, double tonguing, breath support ect. and I've read only a small handful of books to improve my horn playing. I always listen to Dennis Brain and try to capture his tone, and how clean and warm his sounds are, I do a decent job, but I want to take on more steps and become even better into the more advanced/professional level.

Also on a side note, I play on a Holton 378 Farkas Model. The Mid C on the staff with the trigger is significantly sharp compared to the other notes around it. For the note to be in tune, I almost have to close my hand so drastically that the tone suffers a slight bit due to a "muffled" sound of the hand position. What sort of remedy can take care of this?

I guess the main questions I am looking for are these:

How should a Horn player be articulating his notes, lyrically and technically?
With what sort of syllables for articulating to help me picture how the tongue should be?
Besides the Art of French Horn Playing, what should I have in my repertoire as a Freshman to help me fine tune the concepts of playing?
What are the professionals constantly thinking about before they articulate or while they are phrasing?