Shopping for an 8D

• Philip Myers
  • Philip Myers's Avatar Topic Author
23 nov 2008 08:56 #205 by Philip Myers
Shopping for an 8D was created by Philip Myers
Question:

I am a horn student, who is in his junior year of high school, and I find myself in the need of my own horn, however the selection is quite daunting. I have always loved the sound of the Conn 8D, and I have played on some and they seem to be agreeable to me and my horn teacher as being something that will work... but we cannot come to an assessment on which years to buy, seeing as the modern horns lack the same quality associated with the Elkhart built horns. At the same time my teacher told me that Paxman was out of the question because the valves tend to stick in the most awkward situations.

On the other extreme are the Engelbert Schmid horns... but I do not have $15,000-$20,000 laying around for spare change... So, my question is, what type of Conn 8D (what years or types) are better than others, and are there any other good horns that would satisfy my need like a Conn 8D?

Phil Myers' answer:

I have always loved the sound of the Conn 8D,

Me too, especially James Chambers, Myron Bloom, John Cerminaro, and Jerome Ashby

and I have played on some and they seem to be agreeable to me and my horn teacher as being something that will work... but we cannot come to an assessment on which years to buy, seeing as the modern horns lack the same quality associated with the Elkhart built horns.