Low range!

More
02 sept 2013 00:24 #746 by Jorge Mejia
Low range! was created by Jorge Mejia
I've been playing professionaly for over 8 years now, though I haven't had any major problems when facing the orchestra parts my whole world crumbles when I have to play the solos from either "hero's life" , "till" or any solo were you are forced to go down the "basement". I have a decent high range which I think is what it got me into the orchestra I play for now, we do about everything, unlike so many orchestras here in South America that usually tend to stick to a particular kind of repertoire, my orchestra covers up a hughe amount of diferent music during the year, from Bach to those crazy works from Latin composers, I've been playing for about 18 years now and I've tried everything, switching mouthpieces, opening my hand when going down, and lately just keep at doing low range etudes that sound very nice in my house, but once trying to apply that to my job my nerves get the best of my and I don't feel comfortable playing anything below written G, I use and have been using for a long time now a Bach 10, Iove the tone I am able to produce with this mouthpiece and that is a reason why I don't seem to like any of the other mouthpieces I try, the low range improves with a bigger mouthpiece but the sound quality goes to hell and my section usually notice when I'm trying a bigger mouthpiece, they don't seem to like it........any suggestions?

Please Inloggen or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 sept 2013 02:30 #747 by Jeffrey Cook
Replied by Jeffrey Cook on topic Low range!