The International Horn Society is a global horn community. We celebrate diversity and exercise tolerance, and we are here to offer support, resources, and inspiration. Views expressed by individual members of the IHS do not necessarily reflect our values and aims of the society as a whole.

Common Opera Audition Requirements

More
09 Apr 2009 13:40 #267 by Tracy Bass
Common Opera Audition Requirements was created by Tracy Bass
Hello Everyone! I'm a current undergraduate student and I'm really interested in going into opera someday. I'm wanting to put together a list of common opera audition excerpts that I needed to start working on and build from throughout my next few years of school. If you have lists from previous/current auditions or just your opinion about what the most requested excerpts are, please post them! Thanks :)

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
06 May 2009 08:08 #277 by Dan Phillips
Replied by Dan Phillips on topic Re:Common Opera Audition Requirements
Courtesy of Principal Horn Julie Landsman, here's the Metropolitan Opera's 2006 "Assistant Principal/General Horn Audition Repertoire."

1. Bellini, V. - I Puritani: No. 8 Duetto e Finale 2 (m.8 to 13th of A)- Horn 1
2. Beethoven, L. - Fidelio: Overture (Beginning to reh. D) - Horn 2
3a.Berg, A. - Wozzeck: Act 1, sc. 2 (m.274 to 278)- Horn 4
3b.Berg, A. - Wozzeck: Act 1, sc. 4 (m.713-736) - Horn 4
4. Berg, A. - Lulu: Act 1, sc. 2 (m.989-992) - Horn 3
5. Puccini, G. - Tosca: Act 3 (opening) - Horn 4
6. Wagner, R. - Das Rheingold: (Prelude) - Horn 2
7. Strauss, R. - Der Rosenkavalier: Act 3 (reh. 252+1 - 254) - Horn 3
8. Strauss, R. - Ariadne auf Naxos: Opera (reh. 33-40+4) - Horn 1
9. Verdi, G. - Falstaff: Act 1, Part 2 (reh. 26-27+8) - Horn 3
10.Verdi, G. - Don Carlo: Act 2, No. 1 (Beginning to reh. A+5) - Horn 1
11.Wagner, R. - Lohengrin: Act 3 (Introduction) - Horn 3
12.Wagner, R. - Siegfried: Act 3 (End of Act) - Horn 3