YOUR IMPRESSIONS: Double Descant Horns

More
27 Dec 2011 03:46 #510 by P.G. Woodhead
YOUR IMPRESSIONS: Double Descant Horns was created by P.G. Woodhead
A friend asked me about double descants as he intends to buy one. I've played singles (in several keys), doubles, triples (both F & Eb alto flavors), single Bb's, a Bb/high-Bb... about everything under the sun except a double descant. Since I have no experience, I'd like to ask here for your thoughts & experiences on several particular horns. If you've played one (or more), I'd like your impressions, particularly as regards the following models.

1) Willson WCS255C
2) Alexander 106 & 107 (w- and w-out A-stop valve... I think)
3) Lawson 963 descant (there's a hot one over on the 4-sale forum, have to re-mortgage though)
4) YAMAHA YHR-881
5) Conn has one, and
6) Holton has one too

I would guess that a good Bb/F-alto would live or die on how good a Bb horn it was, with the F-alto for those scary moments.

Look forward to hearing from you,
P.G.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Jan 2012 20:42 #521 by Eric A Johnson
Replied by Eric A Johnson on topic YOUR IMPRESSIONS: Double Descant Horns
I have always liked the Holton H-200, just because it is available, plays reasonably well, and does not break the bank. I play a vintage Holton 178 as my daily driver so the switch is not that different.

More
15 Jan 2012 22:48 #523 by Ryan Gruber
Replied by Ryan Gruber on topic YOUR IMPRESSIONS: Double Descant Horns
I've owned a Yamaha 881 for about two years and could certainly recommend the horn without hesitation. It's well built, the sound is consistent between the two sides (one caveat, keep reading), intonation is easy, and it has a nice sound. The Alex 107's I've tried previously have also been very nice horns.

For me, I think there are a two important considerations when buying a descant.