Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Is this an Alexander 103 hybrid or a Hans Hoyer?

Is this an Alexander 103 hybrid or a Hans Hoyer? 02 Jan 2015 21:15 #1489

• Eric Heidner
  • Eric Heidner's Avatar Topic Author
Hello,

I am a music professor and professional trombonist in the United States, and about 2 years ago, I purchased an antique double horn from Ebay Germany. The seller claimed the horn was an Alexander 103, but that the "linkage" was replaced many years ago with parts from Meister Hans Hoyer. Furthermore, the bell is a screw-bell (likely modified later), and there are two engravings on the bell--one on the "throat" that reads, "Meister Hans Hoyer", and one on the bell flare that reads, "M. Operahaz 9/19." Regarding the "Meister Hans Hoyer" stamp, I do not know if the entire bell throat was replaced with a Hoyer throat, or if Hoyer stamped their name on the throat after modifying the bell to be a screw-bell.

Regarding "M. Operahaz," I assume the "M" stands for "Magyar," and therefore this horn was played in the famous Royal Hungarian Opera House. I also assume that "9/19" could either be a month & year (September 1919) or an inventory number (the ninth instrument owned by the Opera House out of 19 instruments). Perhaps your archives contain an entry of a double horn purchased for the Royal Hungarian Opera house?

The seller insisted, however, that the main body of the horn is that of an Alexander 103, and it certainly looks very similar to all of the other Alexander 103 horns I have seen. I have seen one photo of a Hans Hoyer double that looks to be a copy of an Alexander 103, but if you look at the close-up view of the photo carefully, there are several differences. Here is a link to the photo:

http://en.allexperts.com/q/French-Horn-3862/2012/9/repairing-hoyer-french-horn.htm