feed-image Latest News

Call for Nominations - IHS Advisory Council

Acccording to the IHS Bylaws, the Advisory Council (AC) is “responsible for carrying out the aims and purposes of the Society and for determining Society policy.” Nine of the fifteen Council members are elected by the IHS membership; the AC elects the others. As you nominate and elect new AC members, please remember that these individuals represent a broad spectrum of international horn-related activities.

Leer más: Call for Nominations - IHS Advisory Council

New Regional Facebook Pages

Announcing six new horn related Facebook pages. These pages are USA 'regional' pages set up by the International Horn Society. They'll serve as local extensions of other horn pages on facebook where people can post information about local gatherings, IHS news, or any other horn-centric news they'd like to offer. Feel free to figure out which region(s) you'd like to join. The 'regions' mirror the workshops held each year throughout the USA.

Here is the list of Regional IHS pages to join:

2013 Honorees

Recipients of the International Horn Society's Honorary Member and Punto Awards, and the Service Medal of Honor were announced at the annual business meeting of the society on Saturday, August 3 in Memphis.

Radovan Vlatković was elected to honorary membership, Jack Covert and Michael Hernon received the Punto Award and Marilyn Bone Kloss was presented with the IHS Service Medal of Honor.

Competition Winners at IHS 45

Several competitions were part of the 45th International Horn Symposium, held July 29 to August 3 in Memphis. The Dorothy Frizelle Orchestral Audition Contests and Premier Soloist Competition are annual events sponsored by the International Horn Society, while IHS 45 sponsored competitions for large horn ensembles, horn quartets, and for jazz soloists.

Winners of the Frizelle Contest were Paul Clifton from Kalamazoo, MI for high horn and Ian Mayton from Durham, NC for low horn. The Premier Soloist competition was won by Julian Zheng from Melbourne, Australia by way of Los Angeles, CA, with Paul Clifton taking second place and Erika Binsley of Thousand Oaks, CA, third.

Judges declared two winners of the IHS 45 Horn Quartet Competition: the QHorns Quartet from Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University, in Brisbane, Australia - members Elena Katahanas, Campbell McInnes, Rebecca Luton and Trestan McMillan - and Cor4 from Indiana University, consisting of Sam Crocker, Kevin Miescke, Cameron Wray and Drew Wright. Winners of the large ensemble division of the competition were the QHorns from Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University, and second place was won by the Messiah College horn studio. The IHS 45 Jazz Solo Competition was won by Mike Simpson of Renton, WA.

All of the IHS 45 competition winners performed on the Participant Ensembles Concert on Saturday afternoon, August 3, the final day of the symposium.

2013 Premier Soloist Competition Finalists Announced

Judges Manolo Perez, Bruno Schneider, Esa Tapani, David Thompson, and Gail Williams have chosen the finalists of the 2013 International Horn Society Premier Soloist Competition. The finalists are (in alphabetical order): Erika Binsley, Paul Clifton, Nicholas Castellano, Jordan Miller, and Julian Zheng. They will be performing at the IHS Symposium in Memphis, Tennessee, for the finals competition at 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday, July 31.

Usamos cookies en nuestro sitio web. Algunas de ellas son esenciales para el funcionamiento del sitio, mientras que otras nos ayudan a mejorar el sitio web y también la experiencia del usuario (cookies de rastreo). Puedes decidir por ti mismo si quieres permitir el uso de las cookies. Ten en cuenta que si las rechazas, puede que no puedas usar todas las funcionalidades del sitio web.