Finding balance and motivation

More
01 Feb 2009 09:12 #242 by Michael Thompson
Finding balance and motivation was created by Michael Thompson
Question:

Here is my dilemma, and any insight would be helpful. I finished my masters degree in performance, but didn’t get a full-time performing job (like most masters grads now). I have a desk job to keep the wolves at bay and I have plenty of time to practice, but I find it hard to stay motivated to hone my craft. What advice do you have to people in my situation? Practice etudes all the time? Schedule a recital? Take lessons? And what about financial commitments to these ventures? And what about balancing in being married, being social, and being healthy?

Thanks for your help.

Beth

Michael Thompson's answer:

Dear Beth,

An interesting and, as you say, not unusual dilemma. I think music is most enjoyable when played with other musicians. That's why I'm so glad I'm not a pianist; that and the fact that my piano playing is dreadful beyond description.

I have never been a great fan of Etudes. They always strike me as little more than bad music and I would rather practise good music when possible. I'm sure they have their uses but I worry that they can encourage a rather dull and mechanical style of playing.

In my experience, recitals are the horn playing equivalent of running a marathon. They require careful preparation and are not that much fun.

Formal lessons are part of our education. One of the most important results of a good education is that we learn to think for ourselves and continue learning from our wider life experience. I think you are probably at that stage.