In 2016, The International Horn Society celebrated the 37th year since its first Composition Contest.  In 2016, the Composition Contest received 77 entries from 10 countries: 16 entries in the Featured Division and 61 entries in the Virtuoso Division.

The countries represented included Australia (5), Denmark (1), Canada (3), Germany (3), Israel (2), Italy (2), Portugal (2), Switzerland (1), the United Kingdom (4), and the United States of America (54).

The prize-winning composition for the Featured Division was Reflections for Solo Horn by Ricardo Matosinhos of Ermesinde, Portugal. The judges also selected an Honorable Mention for the Featured Division: The Final Battle Cry for Solo Horn by Alexis Carrier of Belgrade, Montana.

The prize-winning composition for The Virtuoso Division was The Silent Flame for Horn and Piano by Ke-Chia Chen of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The judges also selected an Honorable Mention in the Virtuoso Division: Sonata for Horn and Piano by Arthur Gottschalk of Houston, Texas.

The Judges for the 2016 Competition are also distinguished also by their compositions which have been performed and/or recorded by members of the International Horn Society: Anthony Plog of the Musikhochschule in Freiburg, Germany, Dana Wilson of Ithaca College in Ithaca, New York, and Willard Zirk of Eastern Michigan University, USA. 

Performances at the 49th International Horn Symposium

Both winning compositions and both compositions with an Honorable Mention Citation were performed at the 49th International Horn Symposium in Natal, Brazil.  These are all fine pieces—and will probably all become recital standards for many of us!  The program of performances of the following works from the Composition Contest was narrated by Randall E. Faust:

Featured Division Winner

Reflections for Solo Horn Op. 71 – Ricardo Matosinhos

  • Horn – Kristina-Mascher Turner

Featured Divison Honorable Mention

The Final Battle Cry for Solo Horn - Alexis Carrier

  • Horn – Louis‑Philippe Marsolais

Virtuoso Division Winner

The Silent Flame for Horn and Piano - Ke-Chia Chen

  • Horn – Frank Lloyd
  • Piano – Durval Cesetti

Virtuoso Division Honorable Mention

Sonata for Horn and Piano – Arthur Gottschalk

  • Horn – Andrew Pelletier
  • Piano – Lucas Bojikian

This website uses cookies to enhance user experience, including login status. By using the site you are accepting the use of cookies.